top of page

More on discouragement

The other day I was quite discouraged. The kind of discouraged that lays over you like a heavy blanket. The kind of discouraged that makes you feel oh so weary.

I went to church on Sunday, hoping to have something, ANYTHING happen that would lift me up. Now I go to an awesome church. The worship, my favorite part, is absolutely ROCKIN’ and this week it was especially good. I stood there listening to the many voices surrounding me, praising God despite many circumstances. As I stood there, halfheartedly singing, I saw this scene in my head: Me in a ponytail, leading a shaggy golden colored horse with a young girl on its back, looking over my shoulder at my husband across the fence. The image brought me close to tears. A promise. That was what it was. The promise of a GOOD and well-planned future. A future orchestrated by the Master Planner. I found my hands lifting and voice rising, joining the many others.

A promise. A promise of his faithfulness. A promise of his constant working and moving. If you have ever asked me what I want to do, you would know that I hope to become an equine-assisted therapist for children who have suffered physical and mental trauma (hence the child on the shaggy horse). I get all giggly and excited and absolutely NERD OUT on you if you ask me to explain it. This has been my dream for years.

I also have no idea who my husband is (gosh God why couldn’t I have gotten a closer look at that guy on the other side of the fence?!), and have struggled constantly to trust and have faith that there IS someone out there who defies the cultural norms and is also actively pursuing Christ.

Two things of uncertainty. Two major areas of my life that I struggle to believe wholeheartedly for God’s provision all wrapped up into a beautiful mental picture. A promise.

God makes promises and keeps them. If you need encouragement, if you need a breakthrough, open yourself to an encounter with God, and he will meet you right where you are.

{Joshua 1:9} “Be strong and courageous. Do not be afraid; Do not be discouraged, for the Lord your God will be with you wherever you go.


I will get back to you ASAP!

bottom of page